Among the many teams that share the AMA paddock with the factory racing teams, no other organization can boast the success of the Erion Racing team.


The Erion Racing team personifies professionalism in every aspect of its effort. The longevity of the association between Erion Racing and American Honda is not hard to understand. Honda has always sought excellence in its competitive endeavors, and the Erion team has produced numerous championships from one of the most formidable teams in all of American road racing—the latest win being the 2008 Formula Xtreme title, with champion Jake Zemke winning Erion’s third consecutive title.

Notably, Erion has nurtured some exceptional talent over the years, including 2006 MotoGP World Champion Nicky Hayden, Jake Zemke, Eric Bostrom and Josh Hayes.

Headed by Kevin Erion, a former racer and AMA national title holder, and anchored by Technical Director Rick Hobbs, the Erion team has amassed an impressive win record over the years, one that will likely never be equaled, including seven Formula Xtreme Championships between 1997 and 2008 (1997-2000, 2006, 2007), four consecutive Formula Xtreme titles from 1997 to 2000, two SuperTeams Championships in 1994 and 1996, a perfect season in 1999 (the team won all nine races) and back-to-back AMA 600 Supersport crowns in 1999 and 2000.

The Erion team continues to prove the dominance of Honda’s mighty CBR600RR. On this machine, Honda and Erion riders on CBR600RRs have won every Formula Xtreme title since the class went to 600cc in 2004. CBR600RR-mounted riders on the Honda and Erion teams won every one of the 21 races in 2004 and 2005. Since 2004, the CBR600RR has won 34 out of 42 Formula Xtreme races, including three Daytona 200 victories.

What is the secret to the Erion team’s success? In Kevin Erion’s words, “When you are fortunate enough to align yourself with a company such as Honda you can count on the quality and performance of the machines. It’s our job to get the most out of the support we receive, and that takes a concerted effort by everyone on our team.”